Daemon lists

There are no products listed under this category.

Daemon: noun, (in ancient Greek belief) a divinity or supernatural being of a nature between gods and humans. -- OED.

The Pseudomonarchia Daemonum and The Goetia

The first list is from the Pseudomonarchia daemonum by Johann Weyer (aka Wier, Wierus), which he included in his De praestigiis daemonum in 1583, and in 1584 Reginald Scot included the same list in The Discoverie of Witchcraft.

The second list, the seals, and engravings are from the Goetia at - 1904 translation edited by S. L. MacGregor Mathers. If you wish to buy a copy of the Lesser Key (which contains the Goetia) I suggest Joseph Peterson's edition. I'm only using Mather's inferior edition here because its copyright (along with Mathers himself) has long expired. The Goetia is part of the Lemegeton, also known as the Lesser Key of Solomon.

Scot's edition of the Pseudomonarchia Daemonum is in all probability the source text for the Goetia. While the Goetia includes 4 Daemons that the Pseudomonarchia Daemonum does not (Vassago and the last three), Peterson points out that "The fourth spirit in Weyers text, Pruflas alias Bufas, was accidently left out of Reginald Scots English translation (found in his highly rational 1584 Discovery of Witchcraft), or was already missing from the edition of Weyer used by Scot. It is also the only spirit from Weyers list that is not found in the Lemegeton.". It seems to me that the Goetia includes some of Scot's slight mistranslations of names as well. Noone's sure why the order of the daemons got so mixed up between the Goetia and the Pseudomonarchia Daemonum.

The first set of seals come from the Goetia. The bands with the names of the daemons surrounding the seals were added by Mathers. The Goetia did not contain the engravings, either. The engravings Mathers included in his edition were originally by Louis Breton, and included in Dictionnaire Infernal by Collin de Plancy in 1863. De Plancy's list is not reproduced here. The Pseudomonarchia Daemonum did not include engravings or seals.

I've also added the descriptions and seals from Arthur Edward Waite's 1913 The Book of Ceremonial Magic, but it doesn't have its own list as that portion of the book was another translation of theGoetia.

Wier Goetia Wier Goetia
  1. Baell
  2. Agares
  3. Marbas
  4. Pruflas
  5. Amon
  6. Barbatos
  7. Buer
  8. Gusoin
  9. Botis
  10. Bathin
  11. Purson
  12. Eligor
  13. Leraie
  14. Valefar
  15. Morax
  16. Ipos
  17. Naberius
  18. Glasya-Labolas
  19. Zepar
  20. Bileth
  21. Sitri
  22. Paimon
  23. Beliall
  24. Bune
  25. Forneus
  26. Ronove
  27. Berith
  28. Astaroth
  29. Foras
  30. Furfur
  31. Marchosias
  32. Malphas
  33. Vepar
  34. Sabnacke
  35. Sidonay
  36. Gaap
  1. Bael
  2. Agares
  3. Vassago
  4. Samigina
  5. Marbas
  6. Valefor
  7. Amon
  8. Barbatos
  9. Paimon
  10. Buer
  11. Gusion
  12. Sitri
  13. Beleth
  14. Leraje
  15. Eligos
  16. Zepar
  17. Botis
  18. Bathin
  19. Sallos
  20. Purson
  21. Marax
  22. Ipos
  23. Aim
  24. Naberius
  25. Glasya-Labolas
  26. Bune
  27. Ronove
  28. Berith
  29. Astaroth
  30. Forneus
  31. Foras
  32. Asmoday
  33. Gaap
  34. Furfur
  35. Marchosias
  36. Stolas
  1. Shax
  2. Procell
  3. Furcas
  4. Murmur
  5. Caim
  6. Raum
  7. Halphas
  8. Focalor
  9. Vine
  10. Bifrons
  11. Gamigin
  12. Zagan
  13. Orias
  14. Valac
  15. Gomory
  16. Decarabia
  17. Amduscias
  18. Andras
  19. Andrealphus
  20. Ose
  21. Aym
  22. Orobas
  23. Vapula
  24. Cimeries
  25. Amy
  26. Flauros
  27. Balam
  28. Allocer
  29. Saleos
  30. Vuall
  31. Haagenti
  32. Phoenix
  33. Stolas
  1. Phenex
  2. Halphas
  3. Malphas
  4. Raum
  5. Focalor
  6. Vepar
  7. Sabnock
  8. Shax
  9. Vine
  10. Bifrons
  11. Uvall
  12. Haagenti
  13. Crocell
  14. Furcas
  15. Balam
  16. Alloces
  17. Camio
  18. Murmur
  19. Orobas
  20. Gremory
  21. Ose
  22. Amy
  23. Oriax
  24. Vapula
  25. Zagan
  26. Volac
  27. Andras
  28. Haures
  29. Andrealphus
  30. Cimejes
  31. Amdusias
  32. Belial
  33. Decarabia
  34. Seere
  35. Dantalion
  36. Andromalius

The Grimorium Verum

Trident Books has to say of the Grimorium Verum:
"Grimoirium Verum is, in fact, nothing less than a magician's handbook, containing in small compass the entire rites of preparation, identification of spirits, conjuration and the alleged achievement of the operator's every desire. This book, by traditional definition belongs to black magick, insofar as it tells the operator how to conjure what it admits are demons. In the present state of magical knowledge we would be equally at liberty and even more justified in saying that for all we know the Grimoirium Verum is more original than the Key of Solomon; or that it is one of original books of the Library of Hermes, or even the magical libraries of the Babylonians." They are referring to the Greater Key of Solomon here, and it mentions America, so it isn't that old, at least in its current form. It does not state who Duke Syrach's superior is, so I give him and his subordinates in a seperate list. Presumably, he sould be under Astaroth with Sargatanas and Nebiros as the Grand Grimoire(below) lists Astaroth as "Grand Duke", but considering how bare Beelzebuth's hierarchy is it may have been meant to be under Tarchimache or Fleurety instead.

| Lucifer     | Beelzebuth     | Astaroth     |
| Satanachia | Agaliarept | Tarchimache | Fleurety | Sargatanas | Nebiros |
Elelogap |           |
Hael & Sergulath

The Inferior Spirits under Duke Syrach

Clauneck Musisin Bechard Frimost Khil Mersilde Clistheret Sirchade Segal Hiepacth HumotsFrucissiere Guland Surgat Morial Frutimiere Huictiigara

The Grand Grimoire

The primary source for the Grand Grimoire is the 1612 Italian edition, supposedly edited by Antonio Venitiana del Rabina. A 19th century French translation was fraudulently backdated to the 16th century and reissued as Le Dragon Rouge, or The Red Dragon.

The ever cynical (and far under-researched) Arthur Edward Waite in The Book of Ceremonial Magicin 1913 had this to say:
"The Grand Grimoire is the most fantastic of the cycle and is introduced with great pomp by its pretended editor, Antonio Venitiana del Rabina, a personage whose name indicates the Italian origin of the work. By reason of its rarity and the great request in which it is, we are informed that it must be regarded as the veritable Magnum Opus--a view which may appear inconsequential, but for which the authority of Rabbinical writers is cited. It is to these authors that we owe the priceless treasure which innumerable charlatans have endeavoured to counterfeit, but have never succeeded in discovering."

The three superior spirits:
Lucifer, Emperor
Beelzebuth, Prince
Astaroth, Grand Duke

The six inferior spirits:
Lucifuge Rofocale, Prime Minister
Satanachia, Commander-in-Chief
Agaliarept, Another Commander
Fleurety, Lieutenant-General
Sargatanas, Brigadier-Major
Nebiros, Field-Marshal and Inspector-General. 

"Products and services on this site are "for entertainment purposes only", and as is obvious by my articles, I am a practitioner and fully beleive in my practice, path and items.
script src=''>